评委会

List in no particular order

Jonathan Fung

Jonathan Fung博士现任旧金山湾区的圣塔克拉拉大学电影制片和电影理论教授。他曾担任旧金山艺术大学电影学院副院长。他还是Cinequest电影节的评委以及Windrider湾区电影论坛指导委员会的成员。Fung先生是一位颇有成就的电影制片人与视频艺术家。他的视频录像装置作品在美国以及全世界范围广泛展览,其中包括:与视频艺术之父 Nam June Paik在纽约Holly Solomon合作的Electronic Super Highway;在Doek展览中,他的电影 Een Nauwe Poort (A Narrow Gate)“窄门”获得在阿姆斯特丹城外第十七世纪的运河船上播放的殊荣;出席了位于威尼斯Biennale的Snow Show白雪展览;影片《我吃故我在》在加州圣荷西艺术博物馆展出; 影片《兔子洞之下》在旧金山的田得隆区展出,暴露了性交易的黑暗。他最近创作的故事短片“Hark”揭示了对于贩卖人口的社会问题的意识以及逐步增多的了解。过去的一年里,“Hark”在许多电影节上献映,包括 Cannes戛纳电影节,并荣获了3个最佳短片奖和一个最佳导演奖。 Fung先生最近忙于视频艺术装置创作,重点研究与人口贩卖相关题材的作品,为该年秋天在首都华盛顿举办的 5x5展览做准备。Fung先生致力于通过诚信,艺术与正义给人们带来希望和正能量的变化。

Keith Howell

Keith Howell 是一个享誉英国、香港、日本和美国的编辑和出版人。他一直与下列杂志有合作:涉及科学类《物理老师》,《技术教育》,《海洋》,旅游类《香港指南》,《Sawasdee》),时尚类(《SF Moda》),环境和文化类(《鲸鱼》,《太平洋的发现》,《加利福尼亚野生动物》),《纳帕山谷》),并且发表了更多的论著。他的出版物赢得了许多奖项,包括最佳的西海岸杂志《Oceans海洋》。他是《东亚指南》和《猫刷》的作者。他还一直是旧金山国际海洋电影节评选委员会的顾问和首席评委。他也是一个周游世界的旅行家,经常作为英语教师在他访问的许多国家学习不同的文化。他的硕士学位在爱丁堡大学获得。

Nicolás P. Villarreal

Nicolás P. Villarreal,现任旧金山艺术大学视觉设计学院院长。生长于阿根廷的La Plata 城,他在the Escuela of Animacion y Cinematografía de Avellaneda(西班牙语)大学学习,并在此获得了2D动画的学士学位。 在此期间,他拜师于 Miguel Alzugaray门下,——阿根廷著名的美术家; 之后他考进旧金山艺术大学攻读动画设计的硕士学位。2002年春,他满载荣誉毕业,自此他以传统动画设计师、人物设计师、雕刻家、视觉设计艺术家的角色为电影和视频游戏包括迪士尼、索尼、吉姆亨森工作室、世嘉株式会社、数字领域、亚马逊等公司工作。他曾在皮克斯动画工作室、斯坦福大学以及南美和欧洲的许多大学做Ted演讲。他是红三叶草动画公司的联合创始人,也是旧金山艺术大学视觉设计学院院长,在这里,他把动画知识传授给学生,深受学生喜爱。http://redcloverstudios.com/team.html

Birnbaum, Jeremiah
Founder/CEO of San Francisco School of Digital Filmmaking

旧金山数码电影学院创院院长filmschoolsf.com,兼导演/制片人/作家/编辑。出生在纽约,从事导演,制片人,编剧,剪辑及电影教育超过二十四年历史。除了担任旧金山数码电影学院院长外,他还是旧金山湾区最多产的电影公司之一“Fog City Pictures” 雾城电影公司的总裁。在过去的七年,雾城电影公司已经开发和制作各种故事片和纪录片,并在世界各地许多电影节放映,且将在电影院线及以DVD, VOD,ITunes的方式发行。雾城电影公司擅长与旧金山最有才华的电影制作人,演员和剧组以及从洛杉矶和纽约请来明星合作。最近,他执导的获奖影片“撕心裂肺”,2013年十月在全美国上映,好评如潮,得到舆论界,包括“纽约时报”,“好莱坞记事”与“旧金山纪事报”的点评赞誉。

作为一个制作人,Jeremiah曾与许多杰出的电影制片人合作,包括奥斯卡奖得主Barbara Kopple和Leon Gast;以及戛纳和圣丹斯电影节获奖制作人Rob Nilsson。作为一个教育工作者,Jeremiah共同创办了旧金山数码电影学院独特的以电影制片实践为基础的学术课程,亲自教授导演,制作与编剧等许多课程。他还首次参与到在新泽西州的夏令营纽瓦克城市联盟教育计划,教授青少年剪辑和多媒体,。

Jeremiah从卫斯理大学荣获电影和哲学学士学位,并曾在纽约大学提斯克艺术学院学习电影专业。

Hongtong Lin
Former Professor of Academy of Beijing Film

林洪桐教授   前北京电影学院教授

曾任青年电影制片厂编导、中国电影表演艺术学会副会长、北京名人影视艺术学校校长等职。1992年国务院授予突出贡献专家荣誉。从教近50余年,授课二万余课时,培养学生近千人。讲授表演艺术 编导课程及电影大师 电影技巧与手段 当代剪辑等课程。曾任电影文学硕士研究生导师。曾任金鸡奖评委(11届、14届、20届)、金桥奖评委(3、4届)、华表奖评委、十佳影视明星评委、电影百年“世纪杯”奖评委等。

* 九部电影获国家级殊荣,国务院颁授突出贡献专家荣誉。
* 创作剧本16部, 导演电影、电视剧10部, 话剧22部。
* 上百部专著,剧本,评论等。达1200余万字。

歐志洲

歐志洲是KTSF 26台新聞部的資深記者、週末新聞監製/主播和《電影試片室》單元的長期影評。之前他在新加坡電視台擔任時事節目導播和記者工作,也是新傳媒電視發展全日廣播的亞洲新聞台時的主要記者。歐志洲主要採訪罪犯和法庭新聞,也報導了東南亞對抗國際恐怖的新聞。他之後在中國北京,山東,新疆,廣州和香港為國家地理協會頻道和Discovery紀錄片頻道拍攝紀錄片。

歐志洲從小就對電影有濃厚的興趣。在新加坡的義安理工學院學習電影和音響製作。之後,再修讀大眾傳播,畢業於澳洲的RMIT大學。他創立的《電影試片室》影評單元,已經為灣區觀眾點評影片超過十年,也是全美具權威的廣播影評人協會中的首位灣區亞裔影評。

Brian Ho
Judge for SFNEWFILM
Founder, News for Chinese

何百炼—《老中新闻》报创社社长

何百炼于1985年进入中文报刊《世界日报》旧金山分社工作,从此开始了他的新闻媒体职业生涯,直到升任《世界日报》社北加利福尼亚州的市场总监。2008年,他毅然离开,创办了《老中新闻》报:一个以服务旧金山湾区,以社区新闻为重点的媒体公司,通过报纸,网络和广播服务读者和听众。有了30年的媒体和报刊新闻业的工作经验,他继续开拓新的方式来帮助华裔社区—与当地的企业和居民分享知识和资源。《老中新闻》总部位于加利福尼亚州红木城,现在读者群每月已超过60,000,并公认为是在湾区华人社区最受欢迎的新闻网站和广播节目之一。

View the 2016 SFNCFF Programs Here

北美文艺社
Extol Arts & Culture
GGConnections
美中文化传播协会
US-China Culture & Communication Association
愚人戏剧工作坊
沈阳中北广电影视制作有限公司
北京华纳天泽文化传媒有限公司
Siga Water(FIJI) Limited
Academy of Art University
Chinese Students Association
女萝儿童话剧表演艺术空间
San Francisco State University
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
University of San Francisco
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
Berkeley Chinese Students
and Scholars Association
CSUEB
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
Ohlone College
California College of Arts
Chinese Students Association
University of San Francisco
Chinese Students Association
银河少儿剧团
中國駐舊金山总領事館 China General Consulate
Chinese Arts Festival

COMMITTEE

List in no particular order

Jonathan Fung

Dr. Jonathan Fung teaches film production and film theory classes at Santa Clara University in the San Francisco Bay Area. He also serves on the Cinequest Film Festival Jury and the Windrider Bay Area Film Forum steering committee. Fung is an accomplished filmmaker and video artist. His video installation work encompasses a wide range of U.S. and international exhibitions, including: a collaboration with Nam June Paik (the father of video art) for Electronic Super Highway at the Holly Solomon in New York City; the Doek exhibition where his film Een Nauwe Poort (A Narrow Gate) was screened outside the canals of Amsterdam on 17th century ship sails; the Snow Show exhibition at the Venice Biennale; I Eat, Therefore I Am exhibited at the San Jose Museum of Art; Down the Rabbit Hole in the Tenderloin District of San Francisco, which exposed the darkness of sex trafficking. His most recent narrative short film, Hark, is spreading awareness and raising social consciousness about human trafficking. Hark screened at many film festivals this past year, including the Cannes Film Festival Court Metrage, and received 3 Best Narrative Short Film awards and a Best Director award. Fung is currently working on an art installation focusing on human trafficking for the 5x5 exhibition in Washington DC this fall. Jonathan Fung is committed to bringing hope and positive change through faith, arts and justice.

Keith Howell

Keith Howell has been an editor/publisher in United Kingdom, Hong Kong, Japan and United States. He has been involved with magazines in science (Physics Teacher, Technical Education, Oceans), travel (Hong Kong Guide, Sawasdee), fashion (SF Moda), environment and culture (Whale, Pacific Discovery, California Wild, Napa Valley)and has contributed articles to many more. His publications have won many awards, including Best West Coast Magazine (Oceans). He is the author of East Asia Guide and Brush of the Cat. Howell has been a consultant and lead judge with the selection committee for the San Francisco International Ocean Film Festival. He is also a world traveler, often learning the culture by working as an English teacher in many of the countries he visits. He has a Master’s degree from Edinburgh University.

Nicolás P. Villarreal

Nicolás P. Villarreal was born and raised in La Plata, Argentina. He studied at the Escuela of Animacion y Cinematografía de Avellaneda where he earned a degree in 2D Animation. While studying animation he was taken under the wing of Miguel Alzugaray, a well-known fine artist from Argentina. He continued studying animation and fine art painting until he entered the Master’s Program at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco. Villarreal graduated with honors in the Spring of 2002, and since then he has been working as a traditional animator, character designer, sculptor and Visual Development artist for films and video games including Walt Disney Studios, Sony Computer Entertainment, Jim Henson Studios, Sega, Digital Domain and Amazon Studios among others. He has given presentations at Pixar Animation Studios, Stanford University and several universities in South America and Europe as well as a TEDx talk. Nicolás is the co-founder of Red Clover Studios as well as the Director of the Visual Development Department at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, where he shares his experience with his students. Nicolás P. Villarreal - IMDb"

Birnbaum, Jeremiah
Founder/CEO of San Francisco School of Digital Filmmaking

Film Director, Producer, Screenwriter

A native New Yorker, Jeremiah has worked as a director, producer, screenwriter, editor and educator in filmmaking for over twenty-four years. In addition to his work with FilmSchoolSF, Jeremiah is the President of Fog City Pictures, one of the most prolific feature film production companies in the San Francisco Bay Area. In the last seven years, Fog City Pictures has developed and produce a variety of feature films and documentaries which have screened at dozens of festivals around the world and gone on to be released in theaters, on DVD, VOD, and iTunes. Fog City Pictures has a reputation for working with San Francisco’s most talented filmmakers, cast and crew, as well as for bringing in talent from Los Angeles and New York City.

Most recently, Jeremiah directed and produced the award-winning feature film, TORN. Released in theaters across the country in October 2013, TORN has received much critical praise including rave reviews from The New York Times, The Hollywood Reporter and the San Francisco Chronicle.

As a producer, Jeremiah has worked with many accomplished filmmakers, including Academy Award winners Barbara Kopple and Leon Gast, as well as Cannes & Sundance-winning filmmaker, Rob Nilsson.

As an educator, Jeremiah co-developed FilmSchoolSF’s unique production-based curriculum and teaches many of the classes in directing, producing and screenwriting. He first became involved in education while teaching editing and media literacy to teenagers as part of the Urban League of Newark, New Jersey’s summer program.

Jeremiah holds a Bachelor’s degree in Film and Philosophy from Wesleyan University and attended the filmmaking program at New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts.

Hongtong Lin
Former Professor of Academy of Beijing Film

Hongtong Lin is the former youth film studio director, vice president of the China Film Performing Art Institute, Beijing television celebrity art school principal and etc. In 1992 he was awarded the outstanding contribution of experts honor from the China National Council. He has been teaching for more than 50 years; has taught 20,000 classes with nearly 1,000 students. He has teaching the performing arts, film directing and film master, techniques and contemporary editing curriculum. He was professor of master degree of film students. He was also former Golden Rooster Award judges (11th, 14th, 20th), Golden Bridge Award judge (3rd and 4th), Huabiao Award judge, the top ten movie star judge and movie hundred year "Century Cup" Award judge.

  • His nine films won the National Film Award. The China National Council awarded him the honor of outstanding contributions of experts.
  • He wrote 16 original film scripts, directed 10 films and TV series and 22 dramas.
  • He wrote a hundred of books, scripts and reviews, etc. which is more than 12,000,000 words.
Lei Zhang - Judge

Chinese Academy of Arts, Beijing China, (2006 - present)
Director of Digital Arts Production and Research

  • Planning and Directing Musical TV shows of CCTV
  • Music creating and performing
  • Researching in projects of visual music products for Wireless Communication Market

Education:
1999 Osaka University, Osaka Japan
Ph.D. in Film Music

1992 Kobe University, Kobe Japan
M.Ed. of Music Education

1982 Shenyang Conservatory of Music, Shenyang China
B.A. Major in Bamboo Flute & Writing

Dr. Zhang is Researcher at the China s Academy of Arts and Music, Director at Digital Arts Production and Research Centre, Director of Visual film and Music, Musician. He currently researches in “Visual Music” and “Musical Cartoon” production; fusion of originality research production organization, explores within the inter-crossed domain of art studies. Numbers of such Image Film or Musical works have been presented and published abroad and within China, and have obtained international arts and music awards. Dr. Zhang puts forward “Digital Dream Creation” in public, through digital artists’ original creative concepts, researches and produces new and original formations of digital arts with the development of IT information technology and evolvement of mobile media and streaming media. Dr. Zhang also participated in collaboration of Japan and China film production plan, and actively engages into international arts & communication campaigns.

Professional Works(Year/ Activity) and Awards includes:

2009 August A Judge at the CCTV2009 Culture Music Festival, directed and sponsored by SARFT The State Administration of Radio Film and Television.
2008 June A series of lectures at CCTV music channel
September Performs at CCTV during Mid-Autumn Festival event
October As Executive Director, works in the Large scale Out-door stage “Jing Gang Shan"

Brian Ho
Judge for SFNEWFILM
Founder, News for Chinese

Brian Ho began his career in print media at the year of 1985 in Chinese Daily newspaper World Journal San Francisco, and worked his way up to Director of Marketing of Northern California for the national publication. In 2008, he left and started News for Chinese--a Bay Area community-focused media company that serves readers with local news via newspaper, web, and radio. With over 30 years of experience in media and print journalism, he continues to develop new ways to help the Chinese-American community--local businesses and residents alike--flourish through sharing knowledge and resources. Headquartered in Redwood City, California, News for Chinese now reaches over 60,000 readers a month, and ranks among the most popular news sites and radio programs for the Chinese community in the Bay Area.

View the 2016 SFNCFF Programs Here

北美文艺社
Extol Arts & Culture
GGConnections
美中文化传播协会
US-China Culture & Communication Association
愚人戏剧工作坊
沈阳中北广电影视制作有限公司
北京华纳天泽文化传媒有限公司
Siga Water(FIJI) Limited
Academy of Art University
Chinese Students Association
San Francisco State University
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
University of San Francisco
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
Berkeley Chinese Students
and Scholars Association
CSUEB
Chinese Students and Scholars Association
Ohlone College
California College of Arts
Chinese Students Association
University of San Francisco
Chinese Students Association
中國駐舊金山总領事館 China General Consulate
Chinese Arts Festival